Super 8

As many of the people who have ridden with me recently will vouch (i’m talking about you Dave Palmer, Jamie Scott, Dave Weir, Bradley Burbridge, most of St Ives CC….) I’m training badly. Yes, I might have just completed a bunch of cyclocross races and I got round a couple of little chippers at Hillingdon but a whole season of road racing, that’s a different story. I have no background in cyclocross so whatever I did it would have been my best season and it’s easy to hide when you are going around and around in circles in what is predominantly a 2/3/4 circuit race in West London, out of season.

Last week didn’t help matters either. My most recent ride was a cracking 100km in the sunshine through Gloucestershire and Herefordshire more than a week ago. It was the kind of ride that should ignite some enthusiasm for training, and maybe it would have done if it didn’t drop below freezing the following day and stay there all week. The roads have been frozen and it’s been sub zero since, I wasn’t going out in that. I’m not making excuses, I could have gone out but I don’t have that kind of commitment to training. You don’t become as mediocre as I have with any kind of commitment to training. I know, I’ve been like this forever.

And today the snow came, crap for bike riding but I’ve had an ace day with Claire, Ariana, and a £9 sledge (which I bought from a bike shop if that somehow helps with some training karma…)

So what have I spent an hour doing this evening? Entering a whole bunch of races when I should have been on the turbo preparing for them. My theory is that if I’ve paid money then I might not be committing to training, but eight events in March is a heck of a commitment to racing. Besides, I go a lot better when I’ve got a number pinned on my back. I also know for a fact that I’ll pick up when the weather does.

This is me:

Sunday 19th February     Midlands Cross Country Mountain Bike Series round 1
Saturday 3rd March          NCRA handicap series 1 round 1 (assuming my club selects me, and if they read this they might not)
Sunday 4th March             Crest Road Race
Saturday 10th March        NCRA handicap series 1 round 2
Saturday 17th March        NCRA handicap series 1 round 3
Sunday 18th March           Midlands Cross Country Mountain Bike Series round 2
Saturday 24th March        NCRA handicap series 1 round 4
Sunday 25th March           National Cross Country Mountain Bike Series round 1
Saturday 31st March        NCRA handicap series 1 round 5

And I might also sneak in a trip to Birmingham on February 23rd for the Rollapaluza National Series too.

Got to be in it to win it I suppose, and I’d rather go racing than training any day.

Leave a Reply

